Skip to main content
Meta Typing Club
Education

K-2 Typing Program: A Principal's 5-Criterion Rubric

Meta Typing Club12 min read
K-2 Typing Program: A Principal's 5-Criterion Rubric

Score a K-2 typing program on five weighted criteria: developmental fit for ages 5 to 8 (30 percent), teacher workload (25 percent), parent-readable progress (20 percent), language coverage (15 percent), and cost (10 percent). Meta Typing Club sells one of these programs, which is a reason to audit our weights rather than take them.

TL;DR: Score each of the five criteria 0 to 3, multiply by its weight, and take the median of three scorers. Feed the sheet with the four screens a pitch skips: teacher setup, the parent view, the language list, and the fine print under "free".

The demo is not the decision

A rep gets 30 minutes in your office and spends 25 of them on the student screen. Every platform on your shortlist wins those 25 minutes.

In February, a first-grade teacher with twenty-two students and one shared cart decides whether this is worth the login. No pitch shows that moment.

Your superintendent will ask why this one. A rubric written before the demos is the only answer that survives it.

Write the rubric before you take the first demo.

Five weighted criteria, and the argument for the weights

The weights below are a position, not a formula, and a principal in a different building could defend different ones.

CriterionWeightWhat a full-credit answer looks like
Developmental fit for K-230 percentGrade-banded for ages 5 to 8; letter location and posture before speed
Teacher workload25 percentClass created in under 10 minutes; students join by code; platform tracks due dates
Progress visibility20 percentOne per-student view a parent reads without a glossary
Language coverage15 percentComplete structured courses in your families' languages, right-to-left scripts included
Cost and what free includes10 percentPublished price or written quote; named retention window; stated exit terms

Score each criterion 0 to 3: 0 absent, 1 weak, 2 adequate, 3 the full-credit answer in the right column. Multiply by the weight and add the five products for a total out of 300. Use three scorers and take the median. Where two of them land 2 or more points apart, talk that row out before you average anything, because the gap is usually a disagreement about your building rather than about the product.

Language coverage is the one conditional weight. If every family in your building reads English comfortably, drop it to 5 percent and move the freed 10 points 5 and 5 into developmental fit and teacher workload, keeping the total at 100.

Cost sits last on purpose, and not because it is unimportant. Price is the one row you can renegotiate after the fact. A teacher who wrote the program off in the first term is not renegotiable.

What the occupational therapists are right about

The strongest objection to a K-2 typing program is developmental. Writing for OccupationalTherapy.com in 2023, Teresa Vance's review of evidence-based keyboarding instruction reports that "Educators generally agree that students have developed the proper level of dexterity and eye-hand coordination for efficient keyboarding by 3rd or 4th grade." She cites Nancy Pollock for grades 2 and 3, Leigh Zeitz for grades 3 and 4, and Virginia Berninger for grades 4 through 6. Her readiness list is not something a 5-year-old can be drilled into: fine motor abilities, visual-motor coordination, motor planning, and postural control.

That objection lands. If a vendor claims their kindergarten course produces touch typists, the literature does not support it, and you should score them down.

That list also frames the device question. Fine motor and postural control describe small fingers reaching physical keys without strain, which a cart of tablets does not train. Decide what your K-2 students will type on before you score anyone.

Here is where the objection stops landing. Read the Common Core State Standards for writing in sequence, as a schedule rather than a mandate, since several states have replaced or renamed them. Grade 1 standard W.1.6 and grade 2 standard W.2.6 both ask students to "use a variety of digital tools to produce and publish writing ...", with no mention of keyboarding. Grade 3's W.3.6 asks them to "use technology to produce and publish writing (using keyboarding skills) ...", and grade 4's W.4.6 wants "sufficient command of keyboarding skills to type a minimum of one page in a single sitting." Run the same check against your own state's writing and technology standards.

That is a schedule. Grade 3 assumes keyboarding skills exist, grade 4 measures them, and nobody assigned the grades where they get built. K-2 is that window.

Full credit on developmental fit goes to K-2 content that builds toward grade 3; a kindergarten course promising grade 4 outcomes should lose points.

Teacher workload decides whether anyone still opens it

A weight of 25 percent is a lot to hand something no vendor prints on a feature grid. Give teacher workload that much anyway. Content is almost never what kills a program in a building; the cost to the teacher is.

Three things to time during the demo. How long from a blank screen to twenty-two students who can log in. Whether the platform tracks assignment due dates, or a teacher tracks them on a clipboard. And who absorbs a forgotten password in a first-grade room.

On that third one we have no better answer than anyone else: a teacher or a parent resets it. If a vendor claims to have solved it, ask to watch a reset.

Meta Typing Club covers the first two with classes and invite codes, so a teacher shares one code with the room, and homework carries due dates the platform tracks; our learning center walkthrough of teacher setup shows that flow. Here is where we owe you an honest limit. Typing.com's schools and districts comparison lists rostering integration among its paid features, and we do not advertise a rostering sync. In a 400-student building with a student information system already running, that is real work, and it belongs in your score.

Time the class setup with a stopwatch during the demo, and make the vendor do it live.

Can a parent read the progress screen?

Test this the crude way. Open the per-student view, hand the laptop to somebody who has never seen the product, and ask what this child should practice next. If it takes longer than 15 seconds, the screen was built for a screenshot. Run that test on ours too; we are the last people who should score our own row.

At a conference a parent wants three answers: did my kid do the work, is she getting better, and what do we do at home on a Tuesday night. Minutes practiced and a rising accuracy line cover all three. A words-per-minute figure answers a question a 6-year-old's family never asked.

English learners cluster in the grades you run

Language coverage reads like an equity checkbox until you look at where English learners sit. The National Center for Education Statistics report on English learners puts them at 10.6 percent of public school students in fall 2021, about 5.3 million children. The grade distribution is the part a K-2 principal should care about: 14.7 percent of kindergarteners were English learners, against 6.1 percent of 12th graders. The system's highest concentration sits in your grades.

Ask each vendor which languages have a complete structured course, and which have a translated interface sitting over an English course.

This is the criterion where Meta Typing Club is strongest. We build structured typing courses in multiple international languages, including Persian, Pashto, and Dari with full right-to-left support, and as far as we are aware the structured Pashto and Dari courses have no equivalent elsewhere. If your building serves Pashto- or Dari-speaking newcomer families, this row shapes your shortlist. If it does not, score language coverage at 5 percent and move the freed points.

A translated menu is not a course, and your newcomer families will find the difference before you do.

What "free" actually includes

Read a free tier as a contract. Typing.com's free versus PLUS comparison, checked on 31 August 2026, is unusually clear. The free edition offers "grade-based lessons, tests, and games" with classroom-level settings only, email support, and "70-day data retention". PLUS adds assignments, real-time activity tracking, auto-grading, and rostering integration.

Prices are harder to pin down than they should be, across all of us.

Question to askTyping.com, checked 31 August 2026Keyboarding Without Tears, checked 31 August 2026Meta Typing Club, first-party
Per-student price published?No. Quote or trial onlyNo. "Priced for Your Needs", quote on requestNot applicable. We charge nothing today, for schools or families. Our terms reserve the right to add paid features later, and you should hold that reservation against us when you plan beyond this year
What the free tier includesGrade-based lessons, tests, and games; classroom-level settings only; email only supportNot stated publiclyLessons, classes, invite codes, and homework available to teachers; no tier comparison published
Data retention stated?Yes. 70 days on free, unlimited on PLUSNot stated publiclyNo. Our policy names no retention window, which is fair to ask us to fix

Keyboarding Without Tears' K-5 program page is the honest counterweight to us on that last row. It describes a sequence woven into early literacy work, grade band by grade band. We do not match that design. Meta Typing Club is a structured skills sequence, and a kindergarten team that wants typing built on sight words and letter recognition should score us below them on developmental fit.

Ask every vendor, us included, for data practices in writing. Our privacy policy states a commitment to COPPA and parental consent under 13, and names neither FERPA nor a retention period. If your district requires a signed data privacy agreement, raise that gap with us before you sign, and with everyone else too.

A school year runs about 180 days, so a 70-day retention limit erases a September baseline long before a spring conference or a year-over-year comparison.

Key Takeaways

  • Fix the five weighted criteria before the first demo; score each 0 to 3 for a total out of 300.
  • Developmental fit carries 30 percent: K-2 content builds keyboard familiarity and two-hand habit, never touch-typing mastery.
  • The Common Core writing standards name keyboarding at W.3.6 in grade 3 and measure it at W.4.6 in grade 4, leaving K-2 unassigned.
  • Teacher workload at 25 percent predicts abandonment better than any content feature; time class setup live against a 10-minute bar.
  • English learners are 10.6 percent of public school students and 14.7 percent of kindergarteners, against 6.1 percent of 12th graders.
  • Typing.com publishes a 70-day retention limit on its free edition, against a school year of about 180 days.
  • Language coverage is the one conditional weight: 15 percent when it applies, 5 percent when it does not, with the freed points split between developmental fit and teacher workload.

Frequently Asked Questions

Our occupational therapist says wait until third grade. Is she wrong?

No. On formal touch typing she has the literature behind her, including Vance's 2023 summary. The disagreement is narrower: K-2 is for keyboard familiarity, posture, and two-hand use, which asks far less of a 6-year-old's hands.

Who actually owns this program once we buy it?

Name that person before you sign. If it is the classroom teacher, teacher workload has to score 3 out of 3 or the adoption is a coin flip. A coach or a media specialist can absorb a heavier setup.

What do I tell a parent who asks what their child does on a computer every day?

Show the per-student view and say the K-2 goal is finding letters and using both hands. Give a number for daily minutes; speed comes later.

Our building has fourteen home languages. Does that change which program we pick?

It changes the shortlist when a family's language has no structured course anywhere, which is what we see with Pashto and Dari. For most buildings the coverage row sorts the options and the other four decide.

What happens to our students' data if we cancel?

Get it in writing before you sign, from every vendor including us. Two questions do the work: how long records survive an account closing, and whether you can export the roster and progress history. Our policy names no retention period, a gap to press us on.

What is this going to cost per student?

Nobody on this shortlist publishes a per-student price, including us. Typing.com and Keyboarding Without Tears both route you to a quote. Ask us through our contact page, and get a written number before you score the cost row.

What do I say when my superintendent asks why we chose this vendor?

Hand over the completed rubric with the three scorers named and the median on every row. A sheet weighting developmental fit and teacher workload above price is an instructional argument. "It demoed well" is not one.

Where to go from here

Copy the five criteria into a sheet and hand it to three people who will live with the result: a K-2 teacher, whoever supports your devices, and one parent. Score every option including ours, take the median, and argue only about the rows where you disagree. To score us, open our structured lesson library, which holds more than 2,000 of our own lessons across every language we support, and our teacher and parent FAQ. If we lose a row, tell us; finding it now beats finding it after the purchase order. More guides for school leaders sit on the Meta Typing Club blog.

#k-2 typing program#elementary principal#edtech evaluation rubric#keyboarding standards#school technology decision#right-to-left typing courses#vendor comparison
Share:

You Might Also Like